“the Process”

There is no real process for writing a novel.

I have discovered this over the past year. Initially my “plan” was to write the whole thing, beginning to end, and then go back and edit and rewrite so that the beginning matched the ending (I am not a plotter.) Then, I got about two-thirds of the way through and decided that I needed re-read and edit what I had initially wrote before I could dare write the ending. And now…

Well, now I’m just pegging out random scenes without any sequence at all.

Anyway, on account of having to chop out some of the work I wrote two weeks ago, I thought I’d share a bit that I really liked with you:

The black and grey stripes of the tree silhouettes that surrounded them, which had only moments before felt like protection, were suddenly full of betrayal – a void of shadows, hiding vile and vicious creatures in their midst, waiting only for a straggler to harm.

Waiting, perhaps, for her.

I’m hoping to be able to insert this back in sometime later, but due to my awesome writing “Process,” it just didn’t fit where I had initially populated it. The grammar is a bit flawed, but hopefully it gives you some insight into the tone of the novel. If you’re curious as to what it’s about, I put a very brief description on my Works page. Other than that, you’ll just have to ask me. ^.-

Let me know what you think!

About adknoss

I make words pretty as my job and write pretty words as my hobby. Coffee is my best friend and I am currently performing a siege on my nemesis, the elliptical. I also take pictures - sometimes. View all posts by adknoss

One response to ““the Process”

Leave a Reply

